Windows 10 Speech language missing

Posted: February 21, 2016 in Information, Windows 10
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

As part of the Insider program I get rather frequent upgrades to Windows 10. Each time the upgrade installs it resets my speech language to “English (United States)” which means Cortana stops working as my Region is set to “Australia”

I also use ConfigMgr to handle updates on my network (this would also apply for people using WSUS) so when I go into the Region & language settings I don’t get the Speech feature appearing under the “English (Australia)” options.

Luckily, it is relatively easy to sort out.

SOLUTION:

  1. Open Windows 10 “Settings-Time & language – Region & language” and you should now see it “Searching Windows Update” or “Searching Windows Update for Language Features”
  2. Run regedit and rename the HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate key (e.g. WindowsUpdate.org)
    1. winupdateorg
  3. Open Services and stop the “Windows Update” service
    1. speech1
  4. Wait a few minutes then click the language and Options
  5. In the Options windows you should now have options to Download the required speech features
    1. speech2
  6. Click Download on each entry and wait for them to install
    1. speech3
  7. Go back to the “Time & language – Speech” settings and you can now select the new speech pack
    1. speech4
  8. Now stop the Windows Update service again and rename the reg key back to the original name
    1. Note: If you are using GPO or ConfigMgr for updates it will be re-created eventually anyway

Comments
  1. ndog37 says:

    Hey, thanks for this I had the same issue.

    Do you know if there is a way to script installation of theses speech packs? I can use lpksetup to install a language .cab file, however I would like to deploy speech packs dynamically as well.

    • Scott says:

      I haven’t really bothered to try and automate/script it. More recent builds don’t seem to be having as much of a problem with locating and downloading the required files.
      I’m inclined to wait until the builds are closer to complete, and I’ll look at what is needed on my ConfigMgr environment to make the files available, or will look at scripting if that isn’t a viable method.

Leave a Reply

