TeamViewer on Windows 10 says screen cant be captured

Posted: January 16, 2015 in Solved, Windows 10
Tags: , ,

When trying to connect to a remote Windows 10 machine using TeamViewer, you get a blank screen with the message “The screen cannot be captured at the moment. This is probably due to fast user switching or a disconnected/minimized Remote Desktop session.”

On the computer you are trying to connect to, you may see the screen appear to flicker constantly

tv-error 

SOLUTION

To resolve, on the client computer that you are trying to connect to, create a reg key “HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\TeamViewer\DisableDuplicationAPI” as a REG_DWORD with a value of 1

tv-regThe following command can create this key when run from an elevated command prompt

reg add HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\TeamViewer /v DisableDuplicationAPI /d 1 /t REG_DWORD

After creating the key, restart the Teamviewer service

Comments
  1. Menno says:

    Thanks, this also worked on my Windows 8.1 machine (had to add the string manually though)

  2. Jay Nudel says:

    This totally worked for me too, with Win 8.1 Thanks!

  3. Jasri says:

    this should be created on the host or client?

  4. Yap! says:

    I did this…still not working

    • Scott says:

      Are you getting the same symptoms of the remote screen flashing/flickering?
      Do you have any other errors or messages disaplyed?
      Is the Teamviewer disaply driver installed on the remote machine?
      What version of Windows are you using on the remote PC you are trying to control?

  5. nb3 says:

    This works for me, but why is the response time so much slower?
    Is anyone else noticing that?

    • Scott says:

      I haven’t noticed any issues with speed at all. Have you installed the Teamviewer monitor driver?

      • Nb3 says:

        I installed the general software.
        Is the monitor driver included?

        • Scott says:

          I don’t remember if it installs automatically or not. Have a look in Options-Advanced then about halfway down “Advanced Network settings” and it gives the options for the monitor driver. It also prompts to install it if you select the “show black screen on remote” setting.

        • Nb3 says:

          Installing the monitor driver brought back the black screen.

        • Scott says:

          Check the registry keys are still there (make sure no typos) and restart the Teamviewer service, or just restart the remote computer.

  6. David says:

    Great! I was solved the problem. Thank you so much!

  7. Freddie says:

    On TW, go to Help, About and use the Server ID. Worked for me.

  8. Mars says:

    Great solution! Was looking for this tut some wile…..

  9. Ahmed says:

    i have done these procedures , still not working

    host computer running in windows server 2012r2

    • Scott says:

      Are you still seeing this with v11 as well? Are you actually seeing the same problem and/or what is happening? (“Not working” isn’t a very useful description)

  10. Hi,

    I have window server 2012 VM on my ESXI machine , i am facing the same issue , even this work around also couldn’t be helpful. please advise and comment out .

    cheers-
    aniruddh

    • Scott says:

      Are you using the latest version of TeamViewer? I don’t think I’m seeing this issue anymore with the latest versions. I also don’t use it on Windows Server, but 2012 is based on the same core as Windows 8, so I’m guessing you are seeing a different problem.
      Have you installed the TeamViewer video driver on the Server you are trying to control?

  11. Eugene says:

    I had same problem.
    I just add remote’s teamviewer to my own account. And now I can connect to correct TV ID

    • Scott says:

      I’m not sure how that would help, and in my case I have all my machines already “connected” to the same account.
      I don’t think this is an issue anymore though since the newer versions have come out.

  12. Joe Sze says:

    you saved me, i have to post to say my thanks here!

  13. Toad says:

    solid SGA right here, man. thank you.

  14. Kelly says:

    Thank you so much that was so annoying. Love simple quick fixes.

  15. Vitaly Ivan says:

    This worked for me also. They really should release a patch for it, but i guess thats not gonna happen since they just want to sell newer versions of this.

    • Scott says:

      Are you running the latest version? I haven’t had this issue with the later builds for quite a qhile now, so it’s already been fixed as far as I am aware. Also, TeamViewer is effectively free, or you are already paying for a subscription.

Leave a Reply

