Configuration Manager Update source content being deleted

Posted: October 11, 2014 in Configuration Manager, System Center, Windows Update
Tags: , , , ,

[Place holder post – FULL POST write up coming shortly]

https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/3ac88d59-d1b5-4826-a44d-bb94bfd80f66/configmgr-2012-update-source-content-deleted?forum=configmanagergeneral#39c42c3c-d3af-4362-b097-09c022adc86b

An issue where some source folder content of Windows Update deployment packages is deleted for no apparent reason.

Currently waiting for a response from the Microsoft ConfigMgr Product team on if they feel this is an issue worthy of a product update or just a TechNet article warning of the impact

Summary: issues relating to Update deployment packages that are migrated between ConfigMgr hierarchies that share the same source folder location. Automated “orphan cleanup” process will delete content from the folder if one of the hierarchies doesn’t need it, even it the other one still does.

Comments
  1. Hi , I have the same issue .. Do you have any update on this ?

    • Scott says:

      Hmm, I thought I had updated this post. The link to the technet forums has a post describing the problem so check that out. Essentially it happens if there are two different systems referencing the same content source location. When one system performs an automated “cleanup” it will cause the other to break because content it was still expecting to see has been deleted.
      Essentially, it is “by design” and Microsoft have no plans to change this behaviour. So if you are migrating content or running multiple ConfigMgr systems, make sure they are using their own copies for the source content and not sharing.

  2. Kyle says:

    So still the best solution is to have different content source for each site? We are facing the same issue.

    • Scott says:

      Yes, if you have multiple stand alone primaries doing their own sync then they need their own content source. Once I understood the mechanism it makes sense how it works, but that is by design and not going to change. What sort of setup are you using that you have this issue? Prod and Dev trying to share content?

  3. Kyle says:

    I have two standalone sites sharing the contents from same location. The source files and folder getting deleted every day. As a test, I tried changing couple of application packages with different source location yesterday. I just noticed today they got removed anyway. I have no maintenance task enabled to delete any old aged content. Still can’t stop this. Thanks

    • Scott says:

      This issue is specific to software updates, application content should not be seeing this issue.
      Maintenance takes are just for the data in the database related to machine inventory etc, none of them will be deleting source file content

      Maybe something else to check for is do you have data deduplication enabled on the content source folders or some other non-configmgr related processes running?

  4. Kyle says:

    It is happening to the application contents though i already removed the migration tasks in new site. Thanks Scott. I checked but no dedub enabled either.

    • Scott says:

      You seem to have some other odd issue happening. The Migration tasks don’t move or change source content at all. If you are seeing application and package source content changing then there must be some other process happening. I can’t think of any ConfigMgr related activities that would change the source content in the way you are describing.

  5. Kyle says:

    I will check around. Thanks Scott.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s