Endpoint Protection Log locations

Posted: March 4, 2014 in Configuration Manager, Information, System Center, Windows Update
Tags: , , , ,

Another “reminder where stuff is” post. This time for the Endpoint Protection logs. These should be the same for pretty much any version as far as I know, but I’m looking specifically at System Centre Endpoint Protection (SCEP) included as part of Config Manager 2012.

Log locations:

  • %allusersprofile%\Microsoft\Microsoft Antimalware\Support—Log files specific for the antimalware service
  • %allusersprofile%\Microsoft\Microsoft Security Client\Support—Log files specific for the SCEP client software
  • %windir%\WindowsUpdate.log—Windows Update log files, which include information about definition updates
  • %windir%\CCM\Logs\EndpointProtectionagent.log – Shows Endpoint version and policies applied
  • %windir%\temp\MpCmdRun.log – Activity when performing scans and signature updates
  • %windir%\temp\MpSigStub.log – Update progress for signature and Engine updates

References:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg477022.aspx

Comments
  1. Mikw says:

    thanks for the details.
    you just got a typo in the name of the file McCmdRun.log – it should be MpCmdRun.log instead

  2. Mark says:

    I’ve been looking forever for these logs, thank you.

  3. Darren says:

    thanks Legend. You rock!

  4. Paul C says:

    I have also found (on SCCM 2012R2) that the msmpeng process is hooking into the IIS log files, default location c:\inetpub\logs\LogFiles\W3SVC1\u_ex[yymmdd].log – even if you switch off IIS logging. I’m still trying to work out how to move this since it fills the C: drive over time.

    • Scott says:

      That’s not an issue I’ve seen it encountered before. As far as I am aware there is no “hook” or connection into IIS at all. Changing the location of the IIS log files has never been an issue for me, but perhaps you can try adding the log path as an exclusion?

      • Paul C says:

        I did resolve it, and the answer was pretty simple.
        Although I had disabled of IIS logging, EP was using the IIS log file location setting. To change it I had to re-enable logging logging, change the IIS log file path to a different drive, then disable it. As soon as I made the change EP picked it up and started logging to the new location.

        • Scott says:

          I still think they’re is something else going on. EP has no connection to IIS or its logs. Do you have done other product or extension installed? I can’t see any similar thing happening in any of my servers that I’ve looked at.

        • Paul C says:

          We have a very vanilla SCCM install – we haven’t even added the Servicing Extension or MDT

        • Scott says:

          I don’t know what the Servicing Extension is you refer to, but MDT wouldn’t have any bearing on this either. I’m also running a “very vanilla” ConfigMgr environment, although of several thousand servers, but I haven’t seen a similar issue to what you describe so I don’t think I can’t relate to what your issue is.

  5. KumarG says:

    For every custom scan using MpCmdRun.exe -Scan -ScanType 3 -File
    sometimes log file is updated and sometimes not. How to get specific log details for every scan.

    • Scott says:

      I don’t have an answer for that. If the log file isn’t updated then that may be a bug you could report to Microsoft.

      • KumarG says:

        Thanks,
        Apart from %windir%\temp\MpCmdRun.log and “C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Microsoft Antimalware\Support\MPLog-11222015-143957.log”, is there any other log files which is being updated when MpCmdRun.exe is executed.

Leave a Reply

