Configuration Manager 2012 “Delete Special”

Posted: August 28, 2013 in Configuration Manager, Information, System Center
Tags:

Right up to version 2007, there was a really dangerous button labeled “Delete Special”. It seems harmless enough, but in the wrong hands it could be lethal.

delete_special

If you don’t already know, when you select a collection and click “Delete Special” it would actually delete all the computer objects that were a member of that collection from the database, but not delete the collection itself. Seems like a handy thing, but not when people click it by accident when they meant to delete the collection object.

ConfigMgr 2012 SP1 doesn’t have a delete special button anymore. The feature is still there, but it works a little bit differently.

When you select a collection object and click “Delete”, you are given an extra option to also delete the members of that collection from the database. In effect this is the same as Delete Special. The important thing here is that it’s harder to do it *accidentally*.

delete_special2012

An important point to note is that this action will also delete the collection itself. So if you need to do a “Delete Special”, create a new “special” collection and populate it as required. One way to do this would be to set the limiting collection to one that already has all the computers you want to delete, and then create an “Include Collections” membership rule pointing to that same limiting collection.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s