WordPress posts not showing the title

Posted: June 21, 2013 in Information, Solved
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Minor point, but annoying. I started to notice that some of my blog posts were missing the title. I tried updating, retyping etc but nothing seemed to “reset” it. The only solution I had was to start a new blog entry and copy the content, then delete the old entry.

A search on the internets only turned up people building their own custom themes having this problem due to putting code in the wrong place. This has been happening to me with several different themes that I’ve picked from the WordPress themes “store”.

SOLUTION

After comparing a good post and a bad post, I finally worked it out. I don’t know why or how it happened, but I know how to fix it.

  1. Find the post that is missing the Title and Edit it
  2. Scroll down the page and look for the “Format” settings box
  3. All my posts with missing titles were set to “Aside”. Changing that to “Standard” and all sorted

there must be some combination of things I am doing that cause the post to be an “Aside”. I have no idea what though.

Comments
  1. Thank you! This was a big help!

  2. thank you! I was getting so confused with everything I tried to read on the wordpress forums and it was actually so simple!

  3. dépaysement says:

    Thank you for this – three years on and WP is still doing this.

  4. thegreenguy says:

    Thank you so much for this. You are a legend.

Leave a Reply

