Win8 HyperV Virtual switch bind failed

Posted: January 25, 2013 in HyperV, Solved

Just installed the Hyper-V role on my Win8 machine to do some lab work and I’m getting an error trying to create the virtual switch on my Ethernet Adapter (not wireless)

Error applying Virtual Switch Properties changes

Failed while adding virtual Ethernet switch connections
Ethernet port ‘{GUID}’ bind failed: The data is invalid. (0x8007000D).

HyperV virtual network bind failed

HyperV virtual network bind failed

No idea at this stage what the problem is. A quick search has only turned up a few hits with people getting the error trying to bind Wifi adapters with no apparent success.

Things I’ve tried:
1. rebooting
2. Setting NIC to static IP
3. Disable IPv6

update 26/1/13
The most annoying thing right now is that Hyper-V worked absolutely fine when I was running the Win8-Beta and RC versions.
I’ve just noticed my PC isn’t coming out of sleep mode. It powers up (fan is spinning) but the screen never initialises and no keyboard response. Only option is hard reset.
After the reboot, I then notice my NIC is disabled and I have to manually re-enable it. So there’s something nasty going on here. Hopefully just network/video driver related, but will have to look into it some more.
So in the meantime, I’ve had to remove the Hyper-V components until I can look into it some more.

 

SOLUTION

In the end I just Uninstalled the network adapter in Device Manager and did a rescan for new hardware. After the NIC was reinstalled I was able to add it to Hyper-V without further problems.

I’ll dig deeper if it happens again. I’m thinking there may have been some remnant of a registry setting somewhere.

Comments
  1. carlos says:

    Thanks. your solution worked for me just as wel..

  2. blah says:

    Unfortunately, windows 8.1 has chosen to not let me uninstall my network adapater. Now I have no idea what to do.😦

  3. jotheman says:

    Just disable sharing on the network adapter and it will work. The reinstall does the same thing, that’s why that works as well🙂

    • Scott says:

      I don’t understand what you mean by “sharing on the network adapter”. Do you mean having it enabled for host access as well?
      If so then that might not be very useful as there is only one NIC so then the host would have no connectivity. Removing the adapter and adding it back still enables host access.

Leave a Reply

